We Support the Continental Divide Coalition!

In 2015, Congressman Jared Polis introduced the Continental Divide Wilderness and Recreation Act (H.R. 2554) to protect roughly 58,500 acres of lands in Summit County and eastern Eagle County. The proposal would create new Wilderness areas in the Williams Fork Mountains, Tenmile Range, and Hoosier Ridge, and would expand the existing Holy Cross, Eagles Nest, and Ptarmigan Peak Wilderness Areas.

The proposal also enhances outdoor recreation opportunities such as fishing, backcountry skiing, mountain biking, hiking, snowshoeing, and hunting. It would create a Special Management Area within the Tenmile Range to protect world class mountain biking, hiking, and wildlife watching.

The Continental Divide Coalition is a diverse group of citizens, businesses, sportsmen, and conservation groups dedicated to protecting the spectacular wild lands remaining in the heart of Colorado’s Rocky Mountains.

Colorado’s Summit and Eagle counties are home to iconic resorts – Vail, Keystone, Copper Mountain, Arapahoe Basin, and Breckenridge – attracting visitors from near and far. They are also home to incredible lands and waters that are at risk from over-development that could threaten the area’s clean water, wildlife, and booming outdoor recreation economy.

You can help protect these public lands from development, mining, logging, and unnecessary road building. Help save for future generations the magnificent areas, wildlife habitats, critical watersheds, and recreational resources that sustain those who live in and visit Colorado’s Rocky Mountains.

Quick Facts:

  • 58,492 Acres in Summit and Eagle Counties within the White River National Forest
  • 3 new Wilderness areas
  • 5 additions to the existing Eagle’s Nest, Holy Cross, and Ptarmigan Peak Wilderness Areas
  • 1 Special Management Area
  • 1 Recreation Management Area

Check out continentaldivide.org for more info

Community, Fitness, Health, Props + Accolades, Road